Quick Links

Quick Links

Schoolsworks is a multi-academy trust in West Sussex. Our aim is to create small hubs of schools which work closely together to collaborate, share best practice and improve outcomes for children.

Schoolsworks

East Preston Junior School

News

Show list Show Grid
  • Tuesday 21 September 2021 High Rise Mystery
  • Monday 20 September 2021 Welcome from Chris Seaton, CEO Please see a welcome video, below, from Chris Seaton, the CEO of Schoolsworks Academy Trust
  • Tuesday 7 September 2021 Homework at EPJS How we set and complete homework at EPJS, and introducing the new school planners.
  • Monday 23 August 2021 Return to School Please see a short video below from Mr Tidd about the return to school on Thursday 2nd September.
  • Wednesday 21 July 2021 July newsletter EPJS July 2021 newsletter
  • Monday 14 June 2021 The boy who grew dragons
  • Tuesday 8 June 2021 Sky Song
  • Wednesday 26 May 2021 May newsletter EPJS May 2021 newsletter
  • Monday 24 May 2021 The beast and the Bethany
  • Monday 17 May 2021 Darwin's Dragons
  • Tuesday 27 April 2021 Watercress
  • Friday 16 April 2021 New admissions for 2021 If you have received an official email from West Sussex County Council offering you child at place at East Preston Junior School for September 2021, then welcome to the EPJS family! 
  • Wednesday 31 March 2021 March newsletter The latest newsletter is now available to view online:
  • Monday 22 March 2021 The Girl in Wooden Armour
  • Tuesday 16 March 2021 Sam Wu is not afraid of ghosts
  • Friday 26 February 2021 Message for Home Learners Not a full assembly this week, but a short message from Mr Tidd, followed by some of this term's outtakes.
  • Wednesday 20 January 2021 Armistice Runner Lily has lots of worries. She's struggling to compete in her fell-running races and, worse, she's losing her gran to Alzheimer's. But then she discovers her great-great-grandfather's diaries from the First World War. Could his incredible story of bravery help her reconnect with her gran and even give her the inspiration she needs to push through and win?
  • Tuesday 5 January 2021 Accessing home learning Please see a short video from Mr Tidd, explaining how to access the daily remote learning which will start from Wednesday 6th January
  • Monday 14 December 2020 Christmas with the Savages Based on real events and people, this story of a small girl's Christmas holiday in a large Edwardian country house is effortlessly funny. At Tamerlane Hall, Evelyn finds a horde of children: the gentle Glens, the plaintive Howliboos, and above all, the uninhibited Savages. They are controlled - or not - by a host of parents, supernumerary Uncles and Aunts, Nannies and nurserymaids. Evelyn survives the Christmas festivities - just - returning home none too soon! Seen through the eyes of a prim little eight-year-old, this is an amusing and touching account of a childhood a hundred years ago.
  • Monday 7 December 2020 The last of the spirits Sam and Lizzie are freezing and hungry on the streets of Victorian London. When Sam asks a wealthy man for some coins, he is rudely turned away. Months of struggle suddenly find their focus, and Sam resolves to kill the man. Huddling in a graveyard for warmth, Sam and Lizzie are horrified to see the earth around one of the tombs begin to shift, shortly followed by the wraithlike figure of a ghostly man. He warns Sam about the future which awaits such a bitter heart, and so begins Sam's journey led by terrifying spirits through the past, present and future, after which Sam must decide whether to take the man, Scrooge's, life or not. A perfectly layered, tense and supremely satisfying twist on one of Dickens' most popular books, cleverly reinvented to entice a younger readership.
  • Tuesday 1 December 2020 EPJS Christmas Tree
  • Monday 30 November 2020 The Nowhere Emporium Winner of the Blue Peter Best Story Award 2016 and the Scottish Children's Book Award 2016, and the North East Book Award 2015. When the mysterious Nowhere Emporium arrives in Glasgow, orphan Daniel Holmes stumbles upon it quite by accident. Before long, the 'shop from nowhere' -- and its owner, Mr Silver -- draw Daniel into a breathtaking world of magic and enchantment. Recruited as Mr Silver's apprentice, Daniel learns the secrets of the Emporium's vast labyrinth of passageways and rooms -- rooms that contain wonders beyond anything Daniel has ever imagined. But when Mr Silver disappears, and a shadow from the past threatens everything, the Emporium and all its wonders begin to crumble. Can Daniel save his home, and his new friends, before the Nowhere Emporium is destroyed forever? Ross MacKenzie unleashes a riot of imagination, colour and fantasy in this astonishing adventure, perfect for fans of Philip Pullman, Cornelia Funke and Neil Gaiman.
  • Monday 23 November 2020 The wolves in the walls When Lucy hears noises from behind the wall she tries to warn her parents that there are wolves banging about. But her parents don't listen. When the wolves finally take over the house and Lucy and her family are evicted to live in the garden, her parents realise perhaps they should have listened. But Lucy is no shrinking violet and pretty soon she has the wolves out and the family back in the house. So what was that noise Lucy heard coming from behind the wall? This is a brilliant, witty and inventive picture book with cutting-edge art, which is sure to be a hit with existing fans of Neil Gaiman as well as young readers.
  • Monday 16 November 2020 The super miraculous journey of Freddie Yates A blistering blast of funny fiction ideal for fans of Davids Walliams and Solomons, Jenny Pearson’s rollicking debut introduces an endearing new hero on a mission which keeps going awry. Roping in his two best friends on a surreal summer holiday adventure, Freddie is forced to negotiate onion-eating competitions, exploding toilets and the indignity of dressing up as Supergirl.
  • Monday 9 November 2020 The Last Wild This is a story about a boy named Kester. He is extraordinary, but he doesn't know that yet. All he knows, at this very moment, is this: 1. There is a flock of excited pigeons in his bedroom. 2. They are talking to him. 3. His life will never be quite the same again... Kester lives in a land in quarantine. A deadly virus has killed all the animals except pests and it's expected to be equally dangerous to humans. But when Kester realises he can talk to the pests, he finds they have great hope invested in him.A captivating animal adventure destined to be loved by readers of all ages.
  • Monday 2 November 2020 The haunting of Aveline Jones Aveline Jones loves reading ghost stories, so a dreary half-term becomes much more exciting when she discovers a spooky old book. Not only are the stories spine-tingling, but it once belonged to Primrose Penberthy, who vanished mysteriously, never to be seen again. Intrigued, Aveline decides to investigate Primrose's disappearance. Now someone...or something, is stirring. And it is looking for Aveline. Turn on your torches, and join Aveline Jones in her first charmingly spooky mystery, from debut author Phil Hickes.
  • Thursday 22 October 2020 Online music lessons Many children have learned a musical instrument at school through SAM Music Service. In the past these lessons took place in school, but now they have moved online. Below is a short video from SAM Music showing their services
  • Monday 19 October 2020 Rebound A prequel to the award-laden The Crossover, Alexander’s stunning verse novel pulsates with the rhythms and the pace of the basketball court. When Charlie is packed off to his grandparents he discovers the adrenalin rush of sport, but can he keep his head as opportunity and temptation starts to come his way?
  • Friday 16 October 2020 Teacher Training 2021 As a school, we work in partnership with the South Downs SCITT (School-Centre Initial Teacher Training) programme, welcoming primary trainees as they complete their teacher education.
  • View archived news items

Subscribe to our news as an RSS feed