Quick Links

Quick Links

Schoolsworks is a multi-academy trust in West Sussex. Our aim is to create small hubs of schools which work closely together to collaborate, share best practice and improve outcomes for children.

Schoolsworks

East Preston Junior School

News

Show list Show Grid
  • Monday 23 November 2020 The wolves in the walls When Lucy hears noises from behind the wall she tries to warn her parents that there are wolves banging about. But her parents don't listen. When the wolves finally take over the house and Lucy and her family are evicted to live in the garden, her parents realise perhaps they should have listened. But Lucy is no shrinking violet and pretty soon she has the wolves out and the family back in the house. So what was that noise Lucy heard coming from behind the wall? This is a brilliant, witty and inventive picture book with cutting-edge art, which is sure to be a hit with existing fans of Neil Gaiman as well as young readers.
  • Wednesday 18 November 2020 Virtual Angmering Mile
  • Tuesday 17 November 2020 Prospective family videos The thumbnail has been assigned to the news item, and for convenience also added to the body here:
  • Tuesday 17 November 2020 Skipping video Following our workshops at the start of the year, skipping has been the new craze across the school.
  • Monday 16 November 2020 The super miraculous journey of Freddie Yates A blistering blast of funny fiction ideal for fans of Davids Walliams and Solomons, Jenny Pearson’s rollicking debut introduces an endearing new hero on a mission which keeps going awry. Roping in his two best friends on a surreal summer holiday adventure, Freddie is forced to negotiate onion-eating competitions, exploding toilets and the indignity of dressing up as Supergirl.
  • Wednesday 11 November 2020 Bikeability For pupils taking part in the Year 6 Bikeability cycle training programme, please find the risk assessments below:
  • Wednesday 11 November 2020 Remembrance Assembly Although we were not able all to come together for remembrance, Year 5 pupils put together a short presentation for us to share in classes to guide us through our 2-minute silence today.
  • Tuesday 10 November 2020 Girls Football Partnership
  • Monday 9 November 2020 The Last Wild This is a story about a boy named Kester. He is extraordinary, but he doesn't know that yet. All he knows, at this very moment, is this: 1. There is a flock of excited pigeons in his bedroom. 2. They are talking to him. 3. His life will never be quite the same again... Kester lives in a land in quarantine. A deadly virus has killed all the animals except pests and it's expected to be equally dangerous to humans. But when Kester realises he can talk to the pests, he finds they have great hope invested in him.A captivating animal adventure destined to be loved by readers of all ages.
  • Monday 2 November 2020 The haunting of Aveline Jones Aveline Jones loves reading ghost stories, so a dreary half-term becomes much more exciting when she discovers a spooky old book. Not only are the stories spine-tingling, but it once belonged to Primrose Penberthy, who vanished mysteriously, never to be seen again. Intrigued, Aveline decides to investigate Primrose's disappearance. Now someone...or something, is stirring. And it is looking for Aveline. Turn on your torches, and join Aveline Jones in her first charmingly spooky mystery, from debut author Phil Hickes.
  • Friday 23 October 2020 Year 3 Home Learning Mrs Algorta has produced a short video to help families of Year 3 pupils wishing to support children's learning at home:
  • Thursday 22 October 2020 Online music lessons Many children have learned a musical instrument at school through SAM Music Service. In the past these lessons took place in school, but now they have moved online. Below is a short video from SAM Music showing their services
  • Monday 19 October 2020 Rebound A prequel to the award-laden The Crossover, Alexander’s stunning verse novel pulsates with the rhythms and the pace of the basketball court. When Charlie is packed off to his grandparents he discovers the adrenalin rush of sport, but can he keep his head as opportunity and temptation starts to come his way?
  • Friday 16 October 2020 Teacher Training 2021 As a school, we work in partnership with the South Downs SCITT (School-Centre Initial Teacher Training) programme, welcoming primary trainees as they complete their teacher education.
  • Friday 16 October 2020 Excellent Year 6 Writing Despite the long layoff, Year 6 have produced a spectacular piece of writing of which we are all very proud. Using our new writing formula introduced by Mr Youles, the children have been focussing upon sentence construction and broadening their vocabulary -which provided immediate and impressive results!  The children have been enthused by the inspirational books that have provided inspiration for their writing and we are excited to see what they can achieve over the coming months.
  • Monday 12 October 2020 Kick Budi's plan is simple. He's going to be a star. Budi's going to play for the greatest team on earth, instead of sweating over each stitch he sews, each football boot he makes. But one unlucky kick brings Budi's world crashing down. Now he owes the Dragon, the most dangerous man in Jakarta. Soon it isn't only Budi's dreams at stake, but his life. A story about dreaming big, about hope and heroes, and never letting anything stand in your way.
  • Friday 9 October 2020 Accelerated Reader Home Connect Parents can now view their children's reading record online using Accelerated Reader Home Connect. The website will show you every book for which your child has completed an online quiz, and the results of that quiz. You can also see their current targets and how they are progressing towards them.
  • Tuesday 6 October 2020 Brightstorm
  • Friday 2 October 2020 Using Google Classroom Mr Smith presents a short video to explain how to access Google Classroom. Children will bring home letters showing their username and password on Friday 2nd October. If you have any queries, please do contact the school office.
  • Tuesday 29 September 2020 The Ship of Shadows A swashbuckling feminist take on the pirate adventure yarn, Kuzniar’s fantastical tale is packed full of incident and excitement. Boarding a legendary ship crewed by a gang of hardened female pirates, young Aleja is in for some heart-pounding suspense and action.  
  • Monday 21 September 2020 The Jamie Drake Equation How amazing would it be to have a dad who's an astronaut? Rocket launches, zero gravity, and flying through space like a superhero! Jamie Drake's dad is orbiting the Earth in the International Space Station and Jamie ought to think it's cool but he just really misses him... Hanging out at his local observatory, Jamie picks up a strange signal on his phone. It looks like alien life is getting closer to home. But space is a dangerous place and when his dad's mission goes wrong, can Jamie prove that he's a hero too? A cosmic adventure for anyone who's ever looked at the stars, from the author of The Many Worlds of Albie Bright. Cover illustration by Matt Saunders.
  • Monday 21 September 2020 Skipping Workshop
  • Wednesday 9 September 2020 Message from Schoolsworks Academy Trust A message from Chris Seaton, CEO at Schoolsworks, for parents:
  • Tuesday 1 September 2020 Return to School - Video Aided by a slightly wobbly selfie-stick, Mr Tidd has been recording the routes around school for each year group:
  • Tuesday 1 September 2020 Return to School - FAQ With school re-opening on Monday 7th September for pupils, there are bound to be some questions which many people have. We have tried to answer some here, but if you cannot find the answer you need, please feel free to contact the school office by email.
  • Monday 17 August 2020 New School Meals Menu For those families wishing to purchase a hot school meal, the menu for the autumn/spring terms is available below. Please note the dates in the bottom right corner of each image showing which week is which. Our autumn term will start on week 3 for meals:
  • Tuesday 21 July 2020 Sussex School Games - Virtual School Games Final Result Well we have come to an end, after 44 challenges over 12 weeks from 11 sports we have finished the Virtual School Games Challenges.
  • Thursday 16 July 2020 Transition Videos (Y4+) Here are our final short videos from the teachers to their new classes, letting them know a little about their plans for the summer challenge and reading. Click on the class bar to bring up the right video:
  • Wednesday 15 July 2020 Summer Challenges This summer we are setting the children a few challenges that are very different from the sort of learning we've been sharing during the school closure. There are 20 challenges (or 25 if you count reading each book as an extra challenge). Children can colour in a circle for each completed circle.
  • Wednesday 15 July 2020 Welcome videos for Year 3 As we reach the summer holidays, our final transition videos for new Year 3 pupils are now available. The first video is for all Year 3 pupils, with answers to some of the questions which were sent in to school. Beneath that video, you will find the welcome videos from each of the class teachers.
  • View archived news items

Subscribe to our news as an RSS feed